Sarah's Fit Blog


Grain-free, Dairy-free Pumpkin Pie

Posted in Live by Sarah on December 3, 2012

Hello fans! I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Well here we are- December has crept upon us. I apologize for the hiatus, but I’ve been working my tail off and spending my free time with my loved ones, which is the best part of this season.

Anyway, back to Thanksgiving. I’d like to thank each of you who visit my blog, no matter how often, and let you know what joy it brings me to review my site stats and see the numbers climbing. Fitness is my passion; so whether you have come across my blog out of curiosity, to learn something new, or simply because it’s your passion too….thank you!

I’d like to share my very own recipe I came up with on Thanksgiving for a Paleo Pumpkin Pie. Actually it’s an accumulation of other recipes I came across, but I added a few ingredients and gave it my own tweeks so that I could claim it as my own. My mom always says that a true cook doesn’t measure, so please use your best judgement if you attempt to make this. Go ahead make your own adjustments and share the credit. Ket word: share! Just kidding, you can claim it as your own too 🙂

PALEO PUMPKIN PIE:
pie5

*Heat over to 350 degrees

Crust:
1C pecans
1C walnuts
1/2C shredded coconut
1TBS coconut oil
*Put pecans and walnuts in a freezer bag and crush them with a rolling pin. In a bowl, Combine the pecans, walnuts, coconut and melter coconut oil and press into the bottom of a pie dish using a spoon to form the crust
pie2

Filling:
15oz can pumpkin puree
1/3C coconut cream (use the authentic stuff, it’s better!)
2 eggs
2tsp raw honey (maybe a little more)
dash of pumpkin pie spice

*Combine ingredients in a separate bowl and pour on top of crust

*Bake for about 1 hour. Let cool completely before serving. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

