Sarah's Fit Blog


Marathon!

Posted in Live by Sarah on October 12, 2012

Well, I did it! Seven years ago, I protested that I would never run another marathon in my life. Let me rewind. 2004: I was an avid gym goer and had many aerobics classes under my belt, so I had decided to take up running. A co-worker and I decided it would be fun to try a 5k. We had picked up our packets and were all set to go the morning of…except for one problem, how to do attach our race bibs? Tape? Glue? Oh how about we tie them around our waists with raffia!! After we parked and approached the starting area, we were embarrassed to see that everyone KNOWS you just pin them to your shirt using safety pins…DUH! So the 5k was amazing. The thrill of the crowd, the loud spectators, the organization..I was hooked. And then I saw the marathoner runners come in, and decided that next year’s marathon was an attainable goal. So I trained my ass off for 12 months. Enter the 2005 marathon: also refered to as one of the most painful experiences ever. I finished in a decent time of 4 hours and 20 minutes, and although it was a bittersweet mixture of emotions (pain and glory) I signed up immediately for the 2006 marathon because that’s just what runners do (right?). 11 months into my training I suffered a stress fracture in my left femur and threw in the towel, claiming my body was not meant to run. Seven years and many other smaller distance races later (and even a few triathlon races) I got talked into another marathon. No need to ramble on; it was hard, it was painful, is was everything a marathon is supposed to be….and the feeling of crossing the finish line 40 minutes faster than my previous time was an experience I’ll never forget. I have no desire to run another marathon, but ask me again in seven years and maybe I will have changed my mind.

One Response to 'Marathon!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Marathon!'.

  1. Melanie said,

    I’m so impressed!! And finishing in 3:40??? Amazing!! I would love to run a marathon someday….somehow. 😉


Leave a Reply

